BIGGA Virtual National Championship

The BIGGA Virtual National Championship

Ladies and gentlement, welcome to the first ever government guideline-approved, socially-distanced BIGGA National Championship.

  • Play at a course of your choice
  • Play in your own time
  • Track a live leaderboard
  • Raise money for greenkeepers in need
  • Connect with members

Sign up for the first-ever BIGGA Virtual National Championship now!

Sign up now!


We're tired of COVID getting us down, so it's time to have a bit of fun by playing some golf.

Wherever you are, whatever your skill level, anyone can take part and be in with a chance of winning prizes while raising a little bit of cash for the Greenkeeper's Benevolent Fund.

There will be scratch and nett competitions as well as all the usual categories with prizes for your first and second day's score. The best scratch score over 36 holes will win the title of first-ever BIGGA National Virtual Champion.

First rounds must be completed the week commencing 28 September, with round two to be played on Sunday 4th or Monday 5 October. We’ll live stream a presentation ceremony on the evening of the 5th October at 7pm. (Dates and times are BST)

Players will be encouraged to join up with other member and play two rounds at a local course of their choosing on two separate days in a one-week period. We anticipate the BIGGA National Championship will return to its regular format in 2021.

How will it work?

Firstly, register to get involved using this link, which will take you to the GolfGenius registration page.

Download the Golf Genius app – you'll need it to input your scores.

You can play in groups of four or less but make sure there's someone present to witness your score - preferably a BIGGA member.

Play wherever you are able, so long as you can play 18 holes. With a bit of technical wizardry, we'll determine the leaderboard based upon handicaps and course ratings.

As usual, there'll be great prizes given to each of the winners. There'll also be Nearest the Pin prizes - all we need you to do is take a tape measure with you and nominate a hole on your round in advance (a par-3 close to 150 yards would be the ideal)

Take a photo of where your ball comes to rest and measure it from the hole (to the front of your ball nearest the pin), then post it on Twitter and mention @BIGGALtd.

A longest drive competition will also take place for those who are able to get involved using range finders.

Keep up to date with our live leaderboard on the BIGGA Golf Genius site and stay tuned in to social media for the duration of the event - we want to see videos and images of you teeing off, of your best shots and anything else you get up to!

At the culmination of the event, we'll have a live prizegiving and announce the winner of the BIGGA Facebook Page. And remember, this is all about having fun!

Previous BIGGA National Champions and Venues:

1987 Verulam Mel Guy
1988 Ayr Belleisle Edwin Walsh
1989 Lyme Regis Paul Newcombe
1990 Ganton Gerald Bruce
1991 Royal St Davids Barry Holt
1992 Littlestone Richard Barker
1993 Dunbar Malcolm Latham
1994 Dartmouth Malcolm Latham
1995 Old St Annes Shaun Richards
1996 Seacroft James Dair
1997 Cooden Beach Steve Sullivan
1998 Letham Grange CANCELLED
1999 Carden Park Anthony James
2000 Old St Annes / Fairhaven Dustin Houghton
2001 Southport & Ainsdale/Birkdale Chris Bell
2002 Hillside/Hesketh Ian Semple
2003 Hollinwell /Coxmoor Chris Lomas
2004 Aldwoodley Graeme Macdonald
2005 Worksop/Sherwood Forest Noel Crawford
2006 Burton on Trent Anthony Mclure
2007 Dundonald David Simpson
2008 East Sussex National David Simpson
2009 Burnham & Berrow Derek McJannet
2010 The Berkshire Paul Frith
2011 West Lancashire Jason Hunt
2012 Irvine Bogside Oliver Browning
2013 Frilford Heath Gordon Sangster
2014 Liphook Gordon Sangster
2015 Fulford James Rowling
2016 Bowood Golf & Country Club Gary Burgess
2017 Verulam (30th Anniversary) Christopher Lamb
2018 Gullane Golf Club David Simpson
2019 Formby Golf Club Llion Kerry


Please confirm!