The Scottish National Championship

The Scottish National Championship at West Linton Golf Club, south of Edinburgh, was an outstanding success. The quality of the golf played by certain members at least was matched by the magnificent condition Course Manager Chris Yeaman and his team had produced the course, the hospitality of the club and staff, and the organisational acumen of Peter Boyd, the Scottish Regional Administrator.

West Linton is the home course of former Open and Masters Champion, Sandy Lyle who is a regular visitor to the club and it is no exaggeration to say that he certainly would not have been unhappy to have posted the winning scratch score of 71 which Robert Patterson, of Royal Aberdeen, made to win the SGGA Challenge Cup and be crowned new Scottish Champion. In conditions which ranged from beautiful sun to torrential rain, Robert was more than a match for anything and fully deserved his victory.

The Friendship Trophy for Best Nett went to Steve Nicol, of Winterfield, with a score of 71, winning on the better inward half.

The prizes were presented by Scott McKay the West Linton, Vice Captain, who expressed his and the club's pleasure at hosting the event and promised everyone a warm welcome should they decided to make a return visit.

Results SGGA Challenge Cup, Scratch, Robert Patterson, Royal Aberdeen, 71; Friendship Trophy, Best Nett, Steve Nicol, Winterfield, 71 (bih); Ransomes Trophy, Cat 1. 1. George Mitchell, Newmachar, 71;
2. David Leith, St Andrews, 73 (bih); 3. Daniel Murray, Dalmahoy, 73. Pattisson Trophy Cat 2. 1. Stephen Brown, Newmachar, 75 (bih); 2. Dale Norquay, Irvine Bogside, 75; 3. Chris Yeaman, West Linton, 77. STRI Trophy Cat 3. 1. Mark White, St Andrews, 74; 2. Albert Arnott, Lochore Meadows, 81; 3. David Mowatt, Glasgow, 83; Dick Aitken Trophy Best Head Greenkeeper, George Brown, Turnberry, 73; M&M Trophy Best Assistant, Robbie Breingan, Muchart, 73 (bih); Souter Trophy Best Apprentice, Ben Brookes, Newmachar, 91; SIGGA Trophy Best Veteran, George Thompson, Goswick, 75; St Mungo Cup Team Trophy, North - G. Mitchell, S. Brown, R. Patterson, G. Lornie; Trade, Ian Henderson, Golf Finance, 71; Guest, Scott McKay, West Linton, 75. Nearest the Pin, Ronnie Frame, Rigby Taylor and Longest Drive Daniel Murray, Dalmahoy.